Books written & illustrated by Mervyn Peake

See all books by Mervyn Peake on

Books written

Captain Slaughterboard Drops Anchor
Country Life, 1939

Shapes and Sounds
Chatto and Windus, 1941

Rhymes without Reason
Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1944

Titus Groan
Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1946

Craft of the Lead Pencil
Wingate, 1946

Letters from a Lost Uncle
Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1948

The Drawings of Mervyn Peake
Grey Walls Press, 1949

The Glassblowers
Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1950

Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1950

Mr Pye
Heinemann, 1953

Figures of Speech
Victor Gollancz, 1954

Boy in Darkness
Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1956

Titus Alone
Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1959

The Rhyme of the Flying Bomb
J M Dent, 1962

A Book of Nonsense
Peter Owen, 1972

Books illustrated

Ride a Cock Horse and
other Nursery Rhymes

Chatto and Windus, 1940

The Hunting of the Snark
Lewis Carroll, Chatto and Windus, 1941

The Rime of the Ancient Mariner
S T Coleridge, Chatto and Windus, 1943

The Adventures of the Young Soldier in Search of the Better World
E M Joad, Faber and Faber, 1943

All This and Bevin Too
Quentin Crisp, Nicholas and Watson, 1943

Prayers and Graces
A M Laing, Victor Gollancz, 1944

Witchcraft in England
C Hole, Batsford, 1945

Quest for Sita
Maurice Collis, Faber and Faber, 1946

Household Tales, The Brothers Grimm
Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1946

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
Lewis Carroll, Zephyr Press, 1946

Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde
R L Stevenson, The Folio Society, 1948

Treasure Island, R L Stevenson
Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1949

Thou Shalt not Suffer a Witch
D K Haynes, Methuen, 1949

The Swiss Family Robinson
J D Wyss, Heirloom Library, 1950

The Book of Lyonne
H B Drake, Falcon, 1952

The Young Blackbird
E C Palmer, Wingate, 1953

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass
Wingate, 1954

The Wonderful Life and
Adventures of Tom Thumb

P B Austin, Radio Sweden, 1954

Men, A Dialogue between Women
A Sander, Cresset, 1955

More Prayers and Graces
A M Laing, Victor Gollancz, 1957

The Pot of Gold and two other tales
A Judah, Faber and Faber, 1959

Droll Stories
H de Balzac, Folio Society, 1961